cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Trickle charger suggestion

purplekeenah
Explorer
Explorer
Getting ready for the upcoming storage season in a couple of months, I need info on trickle chargers.
I'm storing my rig in a new facility this upcoming season, it's climate controlled that has 110v electric outlets. My rig has (2) 12v chassis batteries, and (8) 6v house batteries.
I've never used trickle chargers before, what do I need to do to keep the batteries charged and healthy?
2015 Newmar Dutchstar 4369
2013 Chevy Equinox
7 REPLIES 7

purplekeenah
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks to all for the info and suggestions. The new facility I'm going to use is a 7 day/16 hour per day unlimited access, climate controlled, security coded warehouse. After weighing all or your responses, I've decided to plug the rig into their 110V outlet, same as I do at home between trips, then check the monitor after a couple of weeks to get readings. At the same time I will check water levels in the batteries.
2015 Newmar Dutchstar 4369
2013 Chevy Equinox

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
6v batts don't really like being floated, so above is good advice. If you do float them, check their water at least once a month, as they tend lose "water" and it is hard to get the exact float voltage per temp so they won't.

I have a hard time with four 6s getting good balance per pair of 6s where one pair loses water more than the other. Eight 6s can't be easy for that!

If the scenario is to store and leave for four months, then IMO charge each to true full and take all the wires off and let them sit. If the scenario is that you can visit them every two months then charge them up again fully and take all the wire off again. Confirm with hydrometer!!!