Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Trailer Bounce oscillations

ApexAZ
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

I have some experience towing small toy trailers < 3k lbs, but never anything as big or heavy as our new toyhauler.

Is it normal to feel the back end bouncing / oscillating up and down when you go over bumps? It doesn't feel extreme, but after the initial bump, it kind of has this mild, diminishing bouncing sensation that happens 2-3 times.

We have a WD hitch that I believe I set up properly, but wondering if this is considered normal on a conventional hitch setup.

Thanks,

Brian
18 REPLIES 18

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Bet it tows well. I never pulled a toyhauler until this year, but have been towing dang near anything you can hook to a pickup and some that you shouldn't, since before I got my drivers license.
And the toyhauler is super predictable and stable. Partly due to over-engineered chassis (I'm at maybe 20-25% of the available payload) and partly due to axles further aft than typical TT with alot of tongue weight.

To your comment on the very stiff ride. Presume you're running 35s with a 4" lift. If you're running too high of tire pressure that will make the ride, esp over washboards and little bumps way worse.

Driving empty/bobtail. I'd be at about 50psi max Front and around 30psi rear. Look up a load v pressure chart for your size tires and base it on about 5000lbs on your front axle and around 3000lbs on rear axle when truck is not loaded with "stuff."
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

ApexAZ
Explorer
Explorer
My previous truck was a 15 GMC 2500 that I did just a basic cognito torsion bar level with longer UCA's and Icon shocks with external reservoir front and back. That truck rode REALLY well, but I never towed anything other than a flatbed with a SxS in back.