cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Long Bed vs Bigger Overhang - off - roading

Cortttt
Explorer
Explorer
I have no experience at all with truck campers - am about to get one. I go "off-road" a lot by which I mean Forest Service/BLM roads. I've been looking at Northern Lite 8'11" and 9'6" models. The 8'11" requires a short bed and has a big overhang on the back while the 9'6" requires a long bed.

Trying to figure out which would be better "off-road"? An overhang that might scrape or a longer wheelbase with a shorter breakover angle and a larger turning radius?

I also wonder if having a long bed would have any effect on tippiness off road?
37 REPLIES 37

tiptoptune
Explorer
Explorer
forgot to mention - quality brand name tires are worth the cost over cheaper brands.
2023 Bigfoot 2500 10.4 TC on 2000 3500 dually duramax
Previous - Bigfoot 10.11 TC, lance TC, King Of Road 5th.

tiptoptune
Explorer
Explorer