Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Garmin Basecamp Problems
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Garmin Basecamp Problems

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
kohldad

Goose Creek, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 07/20/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/05/21 11:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm getting pretty good with Basecamp since Microsoft S&T won't work on Win 10.

I've had the problems in the past. Here is an example of going from west side of RMNP (Stillwater) to Estes Park on the east side. Note it is 144 miles in 3:35.

[image]

By adding a couple of waypoints, finally had Basecamp heading the way I want which is through RMNP. Note this way is 52.6 miles in 2:51. So this is the route it should have selected to begin with.

[image]

What I do is pick my two points. Add a waypoint in between then keep moving the waypoint until the routes swaps to the other side. Then go back and add a second waypoint in the area just before the route swapped. Some times it takes several of these to get it to finally go the route I want.

I've looked at other programs, but Basescamp is the only one that works off line. Since I have a Garmin, I can also download and use the City Navigator which is the map on the Garmin so the routes in theory should be identical once transferred from Basecamp to Garmin. I haven't tried downloading yet because while I make plans we are retired and aren't in a hurry. Side trips are our norm and plans change often.


2015 Ram 3500 4x4 Crew Cab SRW 6.4 Hemi LB 3.73 (12.4 hand calc avg mpg after 92,000 miles with camper)
2004 Lance 815 (prev: 2004 FW 35'; 1994 TT 30'; Tents)


BradW

Mayor of Flat Rock

Senior Member

Joined: 10/29/2001

View Profile



Posted: 11/05/21 05:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I hated Basecamp and went back to Mapsource


Wake Up America
2019 Lance 1062 and 2018 F-350 CC PSD 4X4 DRW
Tembrens, Rear Roadmaster Sway Bar, Torklift 48" Extention and 30K Superhitch
Our New Lance 1062 Truck Camper Unloading at Dealer Photos


woodworker414

Crystal City,Mo.

Senior Member

Joined: 01/02/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/06/21 05:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bighatnohorse
Thanks for the reply. I do have th profile set as a RV. I did not have a destination set. I will try that and see what happens.


Brenda and Bill
2020 Lance 1172, our traveling rig
2013 Heartland Landmark Mesa, 40', fifth wheel, we keep at our snowbird home in central FL, Bushnell, FL.
2014 Chevy Silverado LTZ 3500HD, CC, 4x4, LB, duals, DuraMax


woodworker414

Crystal City,Mo.

Senior Member

Joined: 01/02/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/06/21 05:47am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

towpro
Thank you for the reply. I will check my settings in Basecamp and on the GPS to make sure they match. I would really like to use Basecamp. I have spent some time learning how to use it. It is a great program.

woodworker414

Crystal City,Mo.

Senior Member

Joined: 01/02/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/06/21 05:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

kohldad
Thank you for the reply. Like you we are retired, many years. I will keep playing with it. There is a possibility that it could be nothing more than operator error LOLOLOLOL I will try what you are doing.

K_and_I

North Central Ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 03/25/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/06/21 07:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There may be other good tutorials out there, but I went through this guy's youtube videos and found them helpful. If you have the time, start at the beginning (how to set things up) and progress through the rest.

Garmin BaseCamp


K_and_I
2011 Rockwood 2604
Nights Camped in 2019: 85
Do we have time for shortcuts?

SageCrispin

Middle Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 05/21/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/06/21 08:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've been going to chime in on this to suggest you start in Google maps, import that route to Basecamp, and then to your device. It is a bit of round-about, but many find Google easier to use. Now I'd suggest you look at K and I's link. His episode 10 discusses just this method. Admittedly I fast forwarded through it, but he does seem to get the job done, though it is in excruciating detail. He really spends a great deal of time analyzing errors and how to correct them. If you can tolerate the slow pace, I think this recommendation from K and I is an excellent one.


We've run out in the house, but the RV has two.

Damon Challenger.
Jeep Unlimited toad


woodworker414

Crystal City,Mo.

Senior Member

Joined: 01/02/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/06/21 08:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

SageCrispin
Thank you for the reply.
I will take a look at the videos.

gkainz

Arvada, CO, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 10/02/2004

View Profile



Posted: 11/08/21 09:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

kohldad wrote:

I'm getting pretty good with Basecamp since Microsoft S&T won't work on Win 10.

I've had the problems in the past. Here is an example of going from west side of RMNP (Stillwater) to Estes Park on the east side. Note it is 144 miles in 3:35.

[image]

By adding a couple of waypoints, finally had Basecamp heading the way I want which is through RMNP. Note this way is 52.6 miles in 2:51. So this is the route it should have selected to begin with.

[image]

What I do is pick my two points. Add a waypoint in between then keep moving the waypoint until the routes swaps to the other side. Then go back and add a second waypoint in the area just before the route swapped. Some times it takes several of these to get it to finally go the route I want.

I've looked at other programs, but Basescamp is the only one that works off line. Since I have a Garmin, I can also download and use the City Navigator which is the map on the Garmin so the routes in theory should be identical once transferred from Basecamp to Garmin. I haven't tried downloading yet because while I make plans we are retired and aren't in a hurry. Side trips are our norm and plans change often.


Your particular example is probably a "self-protection routing" because of RV or Truck selected as the vehicle ... routing through RMNP as you desired is "not recommended" for larger vehicles (and not possible during the winter when the road/pass closes). If you can change the vehicle to "car" (if possible ... I only use Basecamp for hiking/hunting trails) it may route you automatically as desired.


'07 Ram 2500 CTD 4x4 Quad Cab
'10 Keystone Laredo 245 5er

diver110

Maryland

Senior Member

Joined: 02/06/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/08/21 12:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not directly responsive, but I have owned many Garmin products over the years, gps, watches, all were a pain, especially if I did not use them often. Garmin does not get user friendly. Still have hiking gps. Basecamp is a pain. But my hiking gps did get to the top of multiple 14er’s, I just have to be ready to reinvent the learning curve. I would take my Apple Watch all day long over a Garmin watch, even with crummy battery life.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Garmin Basecamp Problems
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.