Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Battery monitor that connects to wifi
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Battery monitor that connects to wifi

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
bdosborn

Colorado

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/20/22 07:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yup, looks like it went up from when I bought them:
Amazon Linky

Bruce


2010 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Custom Frame, Poptop, AC, Espar Diesel Furnace, HW Heater, Sink, Shower, 12V-120V, LED Lights, TV and XM Radio, DVD Player, 300W PV Panels, PD 9140 Charger, Tongue Box, Filon Exterior, 1000W Generator, Patient Wife
Boxcar Build


KJINTF

West

Senior Member

Joined: 09/04/2010

View Profile



Posted: 01/22/22 02:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I had high hopes for this solution it looked great. To bad the only compatible Raspberry Pi 3 B+ version is not available any more or at least any where I can find it. I see the 4 version is not compatible and way more expensive.

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 01/22/22 04:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

howardwheeler wrote:

The trimetric might work but I notice it doesn’t seem to read anything in amphours like my Linklite. My LinkLite gives volts amps in and out at a given time and amp hours used over time or put in over time. Am I missing something?


My Trimetric 2025 reads amp hours. There are reset options. One is disable auto- reset if you have solar--explains in the manual.


1. 1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
Photo in Profile
2. 1991 Bighorn 9.5ft Truck Camper on 2003 Chev 2500HD 6.0 Gas
See Profile for Electronic set-ups for 1. and 2.

bdosborn

Colorado

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/22/22 05:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

KJINTF wrote:

I had high hopes for this solution it looked great. To bad the only compatible Raspberry Pi 3 B+ version is not available any more or at least any where I can find it. I see the 4 version is not compatible and way more expensive.


The Raspberry 4 with 2GB of memory is $45. Unfortunately, they are on back order till March.

Pi Linky

I'd place an order now if you want one. I was going to buy a Pi 4 after the last back order but they sell out quick once they are released and I missed it.

Bruce

howardwheeler

West, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/23/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/22/22 05:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If your Trimetric reads amphours (BFL 13) then it has the same functionality as my LinkLite. I believe I’ll go for that.

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 01/22/22 05:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

howardwheeler wrote:

If your Trimetric reads amphours (BFL 13) then it has the same functionality as my LinkLite. I believe I’ll go for that.


AH is the whole point of the thing IMO. I don't have the newer 2030 that has that matching solar controller you can get with it, and the 2025 has no wifi.

Years ago I got some help from Trimetric tech support which was very helpful. Might be a good idea to call them about the wifi aspect for whichever model it is now. They could have some tips on that.

FWC

The Wilderness

Senior Member

Joined: 09/12/2020

View Profile



Posted: 01/23/22 09:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What is the use scenario you are looking for that you need Wifi? Broadcasting the data to the web so you can read it from anywhere? Reading the data on a local device?

KJINTF

West

Senior Member

Joined: 09/04/2010

View Profile



Posted: 01/23/22 11:47am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good to see that we finally have "use case" question

Looking forward to seeing the OP response to this question
Very aware we all have different uses and needs

Mine - My RV sits about a 1,500ft from my home office in a heated powered Barn with a solid WiFi connection. I currently monitor and adjust the storage temperature and humidity with a nice Radio Thermostat. My desire is to monitor both the LiFe and FLA batteries in the rig while in my home office. It's PIA to walk to the barn in sub zero temps and 10" of ice and snow on the ground. This LAN connection is local only as in an isolated LAN without an Internet connection. Yes I am very security conscious. No Cloud services here! None of the 100 plus IP cameras we have here ever see the internet. MAC blocking works great on a quality router.

The Trimetric "station" mode solution looked interesting until it required the 2030 model - mine is the 2025 which in NOT compatible. Not sure if it requires a login and cloud service, assume it does.

The Victron solution requires an internet cloud login - no way will it function with an isolated LAN.

The Rasberry Pi system is a strong possibility

Looking forward to a cleaner solution, but not holding my breath

howardwheeler

West, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/23/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/23/22 12:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My Alpenlite is always plugged in and sits around 150 feet from my house. I have a converted Tesla model S battery that has replaced my four FLA batteries. I like to keep tabs on what the battery is doing. I have 1250 watts of solar charging and rarely does the Xantrex charger/inverter ever have to kick in. I have no problem whether the info goes on the web though I do understand others who feel otherwise. Anyway, that’s why I would like to be able to verify state of charge from my house. Essentially, I’m lazy.

bdosborn

Colorado

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/23/22 06:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Almost forgot about Electrodacus SBMS0 BMS, it will connect to WiFi and doesn't require an internet connection. BUT, it's back-ordered till April. Stupid pandemic.

https://www.electrodacus.com/

Bruce

* This post was edited 01/23/22 06:10pm by bdosborn *

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Battery monitor that connects to wifi
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.