cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting search for 20 year old Lux coach. Have questions

MN_Ben
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I will be looking for a rig in 2023 or 2024. I have begun the search of luxury coaches in the 2000-2008 years. After that I think they are getting above what I want to spend. I am keeping my eye on Beaver, Foretravel, American Coach, Nemar, Monoco, etc. I have been searching forums and reading a lot. The question of roofs came up as I just got down from my current Lance maintaining the seams around the items sticking through the roof.
I am wondering about the coach roofs and the chance of leaks. I understand the Eagle from American Coach had a fiberglass roof. Are there others that may have a fiberglass roof? Or maybe others that have a roof that I dont have to worry about leaking.
I am used to truck campers and 5the wheels. So other than the old Winnebago Chief I owned for 1 season, I am new to the Class A.

Thanks,
Ben
2006 F350 Dually PSD
2008 Keystone Laredo 29RL 5th Wheel

2002 F250 7.3 PSD -SOLD
2004 Lance 1130 -SOLD
2005 Lance 981 -SOLD
2000 Lance 1010-SOLD
199? Texan 650 -SOLD
Ford FX4 Ranger -SOLD
16 REPLIES 16

wborst
Explorer
Explorer
We have a 2003 Newmar Mountain Aire that had a fiberglass roof. It has been trouble free.
Brenda, Bill
Our little dog Madison has crossed the Rainbow Bridge
2003 Newmar Mountain Aire 40ft. Spartan chassis
400 hp Cummins ISL

wolfe10
Explorer
Explorer
MN Ben wrote:
FunTwoDrv wrote:
The others have covered the roof subject so all I can contribute is to be aware of bulkhead separation on the Foretravel units of that era.

I have been watching videos from AZ Expert as previously mentioned. When you mention "bulkhead" I am assuming you are talking about the front cap and the rear cap.

Ben

NOPE.

Bulkheads on a Foretravel are the junction of the front sub-frame and "semi-monocoque" center section of coach AND rear subframe and center section of the coach.