cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hope this is OK for this forum - DEF question

humblerb
Explorer
Explorer
For those of you with diesels in your truck, have you found a good fill spout for the 2.5 gallon jugs of DEF? I have tried two of the ones furnished with the DEF and both leaked.
I tried tightening and made sure the rubber vent was seated.
Still dripped down the side of my truck.

I am new to diesel engines.

Any suggestions or tips?

Thanks,
59 REPLIES 59

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
FishOnOne wrote:
Cummins12V98 wrote:
FishOnOne wrote:
I use the Ford Motorcraft spout for a no drama DEF fill process. It features a snap on nozzle to fill port so it doesn't come out of the fill port while filling. After use I rinse with tap water and let it dry for a couple of days and then place it back into the plastic bag.

After almost 10 years and 236k miles I still have the factory original DEF system.

Link

Sounds like you are doing it RIGHT!!!

I do get a DEF error a couple times a year stating it's going to limit the speed in ~50 miles but it goes away. It's probably going to bite me one day.

It’s Texas, delete if it goes bad.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

FishOnOne
Explorer III
Explorer III
Cummins12V98 wrote:
FishOnOne wrote:
I use the Ford Motorcraft spout for a no drama DEF fill process. It features a snap on nozzle to fill port so it doesn't come out of the fill port while filling. After use I rinse with tap water and let it dry for a couple of days and then place it back into the plastic bag.

After almost 10 years and 236k miles I still have the factory original DEF system.

Link