Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: No Power to 7-Way Plug?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> No Power to 7-Way Plug?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
stupendous_man

USA

View Profile

Posted: 03/02/22 11:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No Power to 7-Way Plug?

Hi all, electrical problem’s got me stumped. I’m no expert so I figured I’d ask some.

I have a 2000 Lance truck camper not receiving alternator power from my 2009 Silverado 3500. The truck has the heavy duty trailering package, so the plug is attached to the rear bumper. I went into the fuse box under the hood and attached the external power wire, adding a fuse.

As I understand, the truck-side 7-way plug has ground on the bottom left and 12V power on the top right. When I check these with a multimeter, I get 0V. I also have a bundle of wires in the middle of the truck for an additional 7-way.

The running lights, turn signals, and brakes all work with the rear 7-way plug. It appears the previous owner replaced and rewired the camper-side plug.

I don’t have a lot of experience with RV’s, so let me know if any of this needs clarification. What could be going wrong here?

Thanks!

KKELLER14K

BEAVERTON OREGON

View Profile

Posted: 03/03/22 12:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator