Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Circuit breaker or fuse?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Circuit breaker or fuse?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/05/22 07:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So. I’ll be installing a 3000W inverter and with that, what is better? A 300A circuit breaker or an ANL fuse? I like the circuit breaker so I don’t have to keep spare fuses and a circuit breaker will be easier to just reset.

* This post was edited 03/06/22 01:18pm by dodge guy *


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


KD4UPL

Swoope, VA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/16/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/05/22 07:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would want a way to disconnect power to the inverter quickly in an emergency. A breaker allows for that. I'm not sure why you think you wouldn't need a spare fuse. I would think a spare would be a good idea. Sometimes inverter go a little crazy and power cycling them will reboot the processor and make it work again. It's a lot easier to power cycle with a breaker as well.

ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/05/22 09:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dodge guy wrote:

So. I’ll be installing a 3000W inverter and with that, what is better? A 300A circuit breaker or an ANL fuse? I like the fuse so I don’t have to keep spare fuses, but a circuit breaker will be easier to just reset.


look at or estimate what the MAX short circuit current of your battery bank could be. Make sure whatever fuse or breaker you choose will interupt that current level.

When I did checking for my install of a 1000W inverter, ANL fuses worked, most reasonably sized, affordable, obtainable circuit breakers weren't spec'd for the battery bank short circuit current capability.


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/05/22 10:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Fuse. Quality DC breakers in the 300+ amp range seem to be expensive. Never opened the fuse on mine.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Skibane

San Antonio, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 11/09/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/05/22 10:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

Fuse. Quality DC breakers in the 300+ amp range seem to be expensive.


Yep, there are a lot of cheap Chinese breakers out there on the market that I wouldn't trust.

A decent-quality one isn't cheap.

BurbMan

Indianapolis, IN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/06/22 07:03am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Size the fuse or breaker to protect the wire connecting the battery to the inverter. For example, I am using #4 wire to connect my 600W inverter, so a 60a breaker is installed. The larger the wire, the bigger the fuser/breaker capacity you can have.

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/06/22 01:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ok. I’m OK with fuses, I’ll just have to carry a couple of spares just in case.
I will have A high amp shut off switch. And will be using 4/0 welding cable for power.
I will get the fuse instead.

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/06/22 01:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

KD4UPL wrote:

I would want a way to disconnect power to the inverter quickly in an emergency. A breaker allows for that. I'm not sure why you think you wouldn't need a spare fuse. I would think a spare would be a good idea. Sometimes inverter go a little crazy and power cycling them will reboot the processor and make it work again. It's a lot easier to power cycle with a breaker as well.


I just seen that. I missed typed. I like the circuit breaker because I don’t need fuses. But the fuses seem to be cheaper. And for as often as it sounds like they fail ( almost never) I would only need to keep a couple of extras.

larry cad

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 05/23/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/06/22 02:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dodge guy wrote:

KD4UPL wrote:

I would want a way to disconnect power to the inverter quickly in an emergency. A breaker allows for that. I'm not sure why you think you wouldn't need a spare fuse. I would think a spare would be a good idea. Sometimes inverter go a little crazy and power cycling them will reboot the processor and make it work again. It's a lot easier to power cycle with a breaker as well.


I just seen that. I missed typed. I like the circuit breaker because I don’t need fuses. But the fuses seem to be cheaper. And for as often as it sounds like they fail ( almost never) I would only need to keep a couple of extras.


Now that is good logic!


Today is my personal best for most consecutive days alive.

Our Travel Blog

ajriding

st clair

Senior Member

Joined: 12/28/2004

View Profile



Posted: 03/06/22 04:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Houses used to use fuses, but now circuit breakers, obviously, you can just reset them when they trip instead of buying a new fuse each time. Breakers also work as an on/off switch.

I have one of these in a 100amp and it works just fine, $15 or so, though I havent tested it or made it trip.
ebay link to 300 amp breaker ebay 300 amp breaker
I actually have 4 total of different amp ratings for my solar and battery and vehicle connections.

There are also breakers that will reset themselves after they trip after they cool down, so are kind-of an automatic resetting breaker, kind-of.
Of course you will probably never trip a fuse anyway, so not a big deal to have two spare fuses on hand either.

* I dont get why you would want to buy an expensive shut-off switch, then put in a fuse when a breaker is bother a switch and a "fuse" in application.

* This post was edited 03/07/22 08:36am by ajriding *

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Circuit breaker or fuse?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.