cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

$1000 for a 23 mile tow?

211Racing
Explorer
Explorer
Total Newbie here. Just bought a 2002 Tioga 24D. After many DIY tests and replacing Fuel Pump Fuse, Relay and Fuel Filter, I have concluded that my RV isn't starting due to a Fuel Pump gone bad. It sat unattended for over a year. We've had AAA forever. Upgraded to their RV package. They'll cover the first $500 of a tow, but the service that they contract with (or at least the one that could do a tow today) wanted $1000. As in $500 from me too. Is there a trick to getting a decent priced tow? Thanks.
26 REPLIES 26

whjco
Explorer
Explorer
Cummins12V98 wrote:
whjco wrote:
I was driving a 45' Motor Coach in Eastern KY and the road took a sharp curve up the mountain. The left front and right rear skid plates made contact with the pavement and I got stuck right in the middle of the road. I had to pay $250 for a 6-foot tow.

No roadside assistance on your MH policy?

This was a 55 passenger Prevost commercial motor coach.
Bill J., Lexington, KY
2006 Starcraft 2500RKS 25' Travel Trailer
2015 Ram 2500 Big Horn 6.7 Cummins.

wapiticountry
Explorer
Explorer
Look at the price from the tow operatorโ€™s point of view. 23 extra miles is really a 46 mile round trip. Thatโ€™s more fuel and an hour of time delay to get to the next guy waiting for a tow. They may lose that next tow to a competitor who can get there quicker. Towing bigger rigs isnโ€™t easy or cheap to begin with. The equipment costs and skill levels are much higher than required to tow a car. Like almost all businesses the tow operators know what the competition charges and what they need to charge to stay in business. While you could probably go to the local bar and fine a couple of guys with a pickup and a tow chain willing to give it a try, it is very unlikely shopping around would save you hundreds of dollars without sacrificing ability.

FishOnOne
Explorer III
Explorer III
Cummins12V98 wrote: