cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to 5th wheel, have questions !!

supercub
Explorer
Explorer
I've been RVing for 20 years all in Class A's, mostly diesel pushers. I'm planning on selling my current 38 ft diesel pusher and downsizing to a smaller 5th wheel. I'm thinking something in the 25 foot range or so. Planning on pulling it with an F-150.
I'll be looking for a used unit and $15,000 or less.
First question.........what should I be aware of a 5th wheel that might be different the a Class A that I'm familiar with.........such as, chassis, axles, hitches.......anything there to be on the lookout for?
Best I can tell I'll be looking back to 2000 year or newer.........is there models to stay away from or ones that are better then others?
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You.
27 REPLIES 27

ReneeG
Explorer
Explorer
larry barnhart wrote:

Renee's wife asked me several years ago about why we had a dually truck. I said my reasons and had a nice visit but when they bought their dually I was happy to maybe have helped in their decision.

chevman

Amen Chevman!
2011 Bighorn 3055RL, 2011 F350 DRW 6.7L 4x4 Diesel Lariat and Hensley TrailerSaver BD3, 1992 Jeep ZJ and 1978 Coleman Concord Pop-Up for remote camping
Dave & Renee plus (Champ, Molly, Paris, Missy, and Maggie in spirit), Mica, Mabel, and Melton

larry_barnhart
Explorer
Explorer
ReneeG wrote:

Per our TV, we can tow a much heavier FW, but this one is just right and the DRW adds stability in our opinion.

Renee's wife asked me several years ago about why we had a dually truck. I said my reasons and had a nice visit but when they bought their dually I was happy to maybe have helped in their decision.

chevman
chevman
2019 rockwood 34 ft fifth wheel sold
2005 3500 2wd duramax CC dually
prodigy

KSH 55 inbed fuel tank

scanguage II
TD-EOC
Induction Overhaul Kit
TST tire monitors
FMCA # F479110

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
ReneeG wrote: