Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: No gas to cook top
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > No gas to cook top

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Next
enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 10:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Kids are camped at Canyonlands NP at 5400 feet. New Escape RV. Gas to all other appliances except Dometic two burner cook top. It was working just a day ago at lower elevation. Is altitude really the issue or can there be something else. Do piezo wires have to be connected (I assume they are) for gas to flow? Propane tanks are full.


'07 Chevy 3500 Dooley, CC, LT3, D/A

bgum

South Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 10:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When turning the stove to light are you holding the knob down/in and pressing the striker?

jdc1

Rescue, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 11:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Use a match. Worry about it later. Just go have fun.

Boon Docker

Mountain Foothills of Southern Alberta

Senior Member

Joined: 10/30/2015

View Profile



Posted: 03/28/22 12:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enahs wrote:

Kids are camped at Canyonlands NP at 5400 feet. New Escape RV. Gas to all other appliances except Dometic two burner cook top. It was working just a day ago at lower elevation. Is altitude really the issue or can there be something else. Do piezo wires have to be connected (I assume they are) for gas to flow? Propane tanks are full.


No, the piezo assembly will not stop the gas flow.

enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 12:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dometic says it is an altitude issue! Everything else on gas works fine! Is there a fix. Dometic offers nothing.

Lwiddis

Cambria, California area

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 01:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I camp at altitudes far higher than 5,400 feet...such as Saddlebag Lake in the Sierra at over 10,000 feet...and have had no propane issues due to altitutde.


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, WindyNation 300 watt solar-Lossigy 200 AH Lithium battery. Prefer boondocking, USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, state camps. Bicyclist. 14 yr. Army -11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560) IOBC & IOAC grad


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 03/28/22 01:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Rapid turn on of the valve can cause a shutdown which protects against say a break or crash. Turn all propane and valve off. Try to start the stove top to reduce the pressure. And/or wait several hours and the regulator will bleed off the pressure. You might have another regulator for the cook top, I do.

Slowly open the valve - very slow and see it the issue is resolved.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 01:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've been RVing for decades and no altitude issue with any appliance. But here it is in the kid's new Escape 21 foot RV! And Dometic says it is an issue but offers no alternative or fix! No exchange, no nuttin. And more than a few others have the same issue.

Bob/Olallawa

Mason Co, WA/Bullhead City AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 01:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If in fact you have another regulator just for the cooktop, that is where I would be looking.


Welcome to my home, that door you just broke down was there for your protection not mine.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 03:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There is indeed a second regulator under the cooktop.

But that said. I can not for the life of me think altitude would cause an issue with it. I've never heard of such a thing.. But I'm not a professional propane guy.

Recommendations:
Electric burner (no more than one per circuit breaker)
Or a portable "Camp Stove" (Coleman to the rescue).


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > No gas to cook top
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.