cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Anode rod help

pasusan
Explorer
Explorer
I'm still new to this anode rod business as we've always had an Atwood water heater...

So tell me - is this normal and should it be replaced now?

We're afraid that it will keep getting thinner at that one spot and then fall off in the water heater. Is that possible?

Susan & Ben [2004 Roadtrek 170]
href="https://sites.google.com/view/pasusan-trips/home" target="_blank">Trip Pics
10 REPLIES 10

Skibane
Explorer II
Explorer II
dodge guy wrote:
Depending on use you can get 3-4 years out of one. Only once did I ever get a year out of one! That still has at least one probably 2 years left I it. Once you get near the metal rod (1/8โ€ rod) then itโ€™s time to replace it.

Water quality makes a huge difference in how long they last.

In my locale, they only last about a year.

Suburban also sells a version that uses aluminum, instead of magnesium - It lasts longer, but isn't as aggressive in preventing tank corrosion.

Suburban Magnesium Anode: P/N #232767
Suburban Aluminum Anode: P/N #232768

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Your anode is perfectly fine!!! Re install it and check once a year. Mine is at least 6 years and and looks basically like yours.

Get a small tube to flush out the tank every time. Don't forget to turn off the power before draining your tank.

Anode deterioration is all about the quality of water. I am mostly west Coast and the water is awesome!!!
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

dodge_guy
Explorer
Explorer