cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Email Issues - Just looking for ideas..

DD716TED
Explorer
Explorer
I have been using the Windows "Thunderbird" email program for many years now and the DW is now comfortable with it. Within the last several weeks, our primary Email Account has been flooded with scam emails and after checking the address on each one, if spam I label it as trash. All of these emails contain xxxxx@gmail.com address as where they came from. This particular mailbox address is one that is used for other legitimate emails, but the number of SPAM/TRASH emails received is getting bigger each day. Thunderbird won't let you block a domain like gmail.com but something has to be done. any suggestions / ideas. I don't want to use another email program as the training period for the DW would be beyond my patience and to delete this particular email box and use another one would take forever to notify those who correspond with us using it.. Maybe the answer is to just open a cold beer in the afternoon and instead of "Happy Hour", call it "Trash Cleaning Hour"..
16 REPLIES 16

toedtoes
Explorer II
Explorer II
Nope. They are still here. And still providing dsl service even.
1975 American Clipper RV with Dodge 360 (photo in profile)
1998 American Clipper Fold n Roll Folding Trailer
Both born in Morgan Hill, CA to Irv Perch (Daddy of the Aristocrat trailers)

ol_Bombero-JC
Explorer
Explorer
toedtoes wrote:
1492 wrote:
time2roll wrote:
toedtoes wrote:
Rather than just deleting spam emails, report them as junk. It takes a while, but if you do that consistently, those emails will automatically go to your junk folder.
I agree. Deleting is not enough. Report as spam.

Reporting doesn't prevent the same spammers from targeting your email as it just blocks sender's specific address. Since they are aware of this, they create new email addresses knowing that a certain percent will always get through.