cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginning RVer: Is this Scenario Doable?

bsteinagel
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

I am just beginning my research process into RVing full-time. My plan is to live in Wisconsin half the year and in Arizona during the winter traveling between the two a couple times a year. I would like to purchase my RV after my lease is up in my apartment next year. My main concern is: will a bank or other financial institution give me a loan for a travel trailer without a permanent address? For those of you who RV full-time and don't have a permanently located home, how do you do it?

My parents said I could use their address as my permanent home, but my concern is that this may make them financially liable for the loan if something happens and I'm unable to make payment and I don't want to do that to them.

Thanks in advance for any light you can shed on this! I hope this is doable but am concerned I may be missing something here.

Brad
31 REPLIES 31

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Thermoguy wrote:
Grit dog wrote:
Thermoguy wrote:
I've been told owning a boat is like a hole in a lake you throw money into - I think an RV is similar. It's always something that needs repaired or replaced.

Just need to buy the right boat…or RV and be smart about it.
I haven’t found any of our boats or RVs to be money pits.

I guess you could add to that upgraded...

The point is, buying a trailer is not cheaper than say renting an apartment. There is ongoing maintenance and upkeep which costs money. You might not have a lawn to mow, but there is always something, batteries, caulking, roof maintenance, etc.

Oh for sure. I agree. I sort of lost the context, as you’re referring to the OP.