Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: House AC went out can I hook up to 20 amp gfci
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > House AC went out can I hook up to 20 amp gfci

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
willald

NC

Senior Member

Joined: 07/15/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 01:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, you should be able to. But, as already said, don't run anything else when running the A/C, and be very careful about what extension cord you use, if any.

If regular RV cord won't reach the 20 amp outlet without an extension, instead of using a typical household extension cord, I'd recommend getting a 30 amp RV extension cord, and using that.

That way, you can be pretty sure that voltage drop over the cord won't be a problem, and you'll also have an extra RV extension cord you can carry with you in case you need it at a campsite later on.


Will and Cheryl
2021 Newmar Baystar 3014 on F53 (7.3 V8) Chassis ("Brook")
2018 Jeep Wrangler JK ("Wilbur")

jdc1

Rescue, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 01:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No one mentioned what could happen if you overload that circuit. You could burn up you AC unit ($$$).

Johnsonty131

Texas

New Member

Joined: 05/18/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 02:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you guys. I think I will have to hook up to my 20a outlet for a couple nights as I think it will be fine if I trip converter. Also I’m in Texas so I will just set thermostat where it stays on constantly during the night instead of coming on an off. I will have to use an extension cord but it is the exact kind that’s already on camper (the black thick one). Only doin this for 2 nights hopefully. Also how do I know if I’m burning up the circuit? Just use multimeter on the outlet im hooked up to?

midnightsadie

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 01/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 02:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

all ways some idiot butting in on the 20amp read I,d put my hand on the cord close to the connection see if its warm .Texas a hot place I,m in ohio hot to us is about 80deg.

AllegroD

Outdare

Senior Member

Joined: 05/13/2003

View Profile



Posted: 06/14/22 03:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would not run anything on the same line, in the house/garage, such as a freezer/washer/dryer in the garage.

way2roll

Wilmington NC

Senior Member

Joined: 10/05/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 03:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Grit dog wrote:

midnightsadie wrote:

be nice if it was a 20amp out let, and I,d not use any thing else on that line. I run my rv ac off one with no problem.


He said it was 20A in his title.


I am guessing the statement in the actual post "I have the dog ear adapter for the 15 amp to 30" threw some people off. But yeah, 20A should be no problem.


2020 F350 STX 6.7L Turbo Diesel
2020 FR Cedar Creek Silverback 29rw

phillyg

SWFL

Senior Member

Joined: 04/24/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 05:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Maybe 15a, but might need 20a.


--2005 Ford F350 Lariat Crewcab 6.0, 4x4, 3.73 rear
--2016 Montana 3711FL, 40'
--2014 Wildcat 327CK, 38' SOLD

ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 06:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

just be careful in extension cord length and AWG. Use 12ga and as short as possible. Or best if you can just use the 30A from the trailer to a dogbone at the outlet.


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 06/14/22 06:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Johnsonty131 wrote:

Thank you guys. ....
....
.... Also how do I know if I’m burning up the circuit? Just use multimeter on the outlet im hooked up to?
Measure the voltage at an outlet inside the camper. Make sure it stays 110VAC or above. A Kill-O-Watt meter comes in handy for this.

Hold the plugs at the GFI outlet and extension cord to see if they are getting hot. A little warm is expected.


2011 Ford F-150 EcoBoost SuperCab Max Tow, 2084# Payload, 11,300# Tow,
Timbrens, PullRite SuperGlide 2700 15K
2013 KZ Durango 2857


dedmiston

Coast to Coast

Administrator

Joined: 01/26/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/14/22 06:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

And make sure there aren't any coils in the extension cord.


2014 RAM 3500 Diesel 4x4 Dually long bed. AISIN trans & 4.10 rear. B&W RVK3600 hitch • 2015 Crossroads Elevation Homestead Toy Hauler ("The Taj Mahauler") • Hooligan #3

Toys:
  • 18 Can Am Maverick x3
  • 05 Yamaha WR450
  • 07 Honda CRF250X
  • 05 Honda CRF230
  • 06 Honda CRF230


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > House AC went out can I hook up to 20 amp gfci
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.