cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Breaker issues

Tuckerman52
Explorer
Explorer
Good evening I am new to this I have a 1999 35 ft newmar Dutch star with a Ford Triton V8 have twin AC roof mount and my problem is I purchased a standalone portable air conditioner that pulls only 10 amps according to the label and as a regular three prong plug-in and every time I plug it in to the motorhome when I am on shore power now that is I have only access right now to a regular outlet in my carport regular 110 and when I plug the portable AC into the motorhome anywhere in it it then throws the breaker in my panel now I have 2 50amp main breakers and three sets of 20 amp 15 amp breakers besides that. I have made sure nothing else is running it's a 12,000 BTU portable AC and like I said it says it only pulls 10 amps if I plug it directly into the house and not into a socket in the RV then it will run fine I'm wondering if I possibly have two smaller cord running from the house to the motorhome but besides that I plugged my motorhome into itself fired up the generator which is an Onan 5500 and put one of the rooftop ACs on and as soon as I plugged in and turned on the portable AC it killed the generator which doesn't make any sense just looking for some help I'm going to talk to an electrician friend if I can tomorrow anybody have any ideas thank you and it much in advance for help
11 REPLIES 11

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
OP FYI I've run a 15.5A A/C in my MH with: 30' of 50A wire inside the MH, 25' 50A cord and 75' 30A cord. Source voltage was good and about 112V in the MH at my sons house.

After upgrading his house to 50A I can run everything with 30'+100' of 50A cord. If you are not aware a 50A RV plug is 120/240V and results is 2x 120V circuits of 50A each or 100A total.

Heavy extensions and RV plug might be a option?
2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller