Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Temp Reg. Question Buying from out of state in California

chill66
Explorer
Explorer
Good day everyone,

I am new to the RV Forum and I am in the process of buying a Class B RV from a couple in San Diego. I am going to fly out and drive it back across country to New Jersey. My question is what is the easiest way for me to get temp plates in California to travel back across country? Ultimately I will register this in New Jersey. I have seen TOP permits in CA. is that what I need? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I donโ€™t want to be in California for 2-3 days trying to navigate DMV being from out of state. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
chris
18 REPLIES 18

ol_Bombero-JC
Explorer
Explorer
dedmiston wrote:
chill66 wrote:
Here is my solution. I did not know that in California plates stay with the vehicle and once you sign the title you absolve the old owner of all responsibility. I will use the plates on the current Class B RV and drive it home. I will insure it before I leave. My reluctance and concern was that the owner would remove the plates after the sale to return to DMV as that is how we do it here in NJ.

I didn't want to drive across the country without plates. I know in NJ They would pull me over and impound the vehicle immediately.

That's correct. Hopefully the seller's tags are up to date.

There's a portion of the CA title that you sign and leave with the seller. They can go straight to the CA DMV website and record the sale with all of your info to protect their liability. And you'll have the signed title that protects your ownership.