cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Converting PC into a server

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
First of all, I’m not very tech savvy but I am comfortable using a variety of computer software. I consider myself a user not a technical expert. I would like to set up my existing Windows 10 based PC to act as a server and also to continue to use it as my primary PC. Is this possible? Or will I need to use a different (old PC) to be the server. Any and all suggestions are welcome.
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos
6 REPLIES 6

MitchF150
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have no idea on that, but a quick google search shows that it can run on a Windows 7 PC and above...

That's as far as I looked... 🙂

Good luck! Mitch
2013 F150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab Max Tow Egoboost 3.73 gears #7700 GVWR #1920 payload. 2019 Rockwood Mini Lite 2511S.

Gdetrailer
Explorer III
Explorer III
TenOC wrote:
bgum wrote:
Yes but you haven't explained what purpose the server will perform.

I want to use BlueStacks 5 on a Windows PC to "act like an Android" and then installed AudioBookShelf (a android app) which is a Self-hosted audiobook and podcast server. When installed on BlueSacks the app ask for a SERVER IP address. My PC IP address will not work.

That is a whole nuther can-o-worms.

Sounds like you need to configure (give a IP to) the "podcast server" contained in the Audio Book Shelf app..

Might need to reach out to the Audio Book Shelf community to find out how to configure it..

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
bgum wrote: