cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Travel Trailer Purchase

gelo
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everyone, I'm trying to decide between two travel trailers and thought I'd reach out here since I have very little experience (my first purchase).
The choice is between a 2021 Aspen Trail 26BH and for $26,800 and a 2021 Shadow Cruiser 240BHS for $29,000. They are both base models in good shape no work needed. I kind of like the Aspen but NADA says the low Retail is 19,900 vs the Shadow at $28,000 which makes the shadow a better value. They both are very similar, it seems strange that one books for so much more, is the Shadow that much better?
19 REPLIES 19

Gdetrailer
Explorer III
Explorer III
lane hog wrote:
Don't dismiss stick & tin construction... All laminated trailers will eventually have some degree of water damage and delamination. They also cost considerably more to repair if there's damage.

Stick and tin requires some basic carpentry skills and won't delaminate.

Nothing wrong with stick and tin other than it isn't "in vogue" now days and doesn't look as modern and sleek like keeping up with the next door neighbors RV..

But, because it isn't as popular with the modern looks crowd, they tend to sell at a lower price point used. Downside is if you wanted to resale one, you might not get all of your money back out of it either but at a lower purchase price, you have less to lose.

Stick and tin does lend it's self as easier to repair water damage, you can remove the siding in the affected area and when you have fixed the rotted area, rehang the siding and no evidence of damage or repair is going to show.