cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F550 Upfitting cost estimates?

HandyRandy
Explorer
Explorer
I am in the very early stages of considering buying an F550 chassis cab truck and outfitting it to carry my truck camper.

I have an older Lance camper I have modified/customized to be exactly what I want. We love it and will not replace it.

I can shop for the truck and understand the range of prices for what I am looking at.

There are lots of upfitter sites on the web, but I am just beginning to put a wish list and budget together so I am not even close to asking for quotes.

Required:
A custom flatbed with storage boxes and tie downs. Preferably aluminum for weight reduction and corrosion resistance.

Wish list:
Oversize single rear wheel conversion with the necessary suspension mods. For example: https://www.buckstopinc.com/single-wheel-conversions.html
Extra fuel capacity
On board air compressor

Can anyone provide ballpark costs for the bed and the mods I listed? Any recommendations for suppliers?

Thanks,
1999 F350 Super Cab, DRW, 7.3 4" Exhaust, Ford AIS Intake, RideRites, Gauges, Exhaust Brake, PHP Chip
2003 Lance 1030 295W Solar
12 REPLIES 12

3_tons
Explorer
Explorer
I guess we might have been too hard on the OP - lol

3 tons

Reality_Check
Nomad II
Nomad II
3 tons wrote:
zb39 wrote:
Ride is fine loaded . Its not bad unloaded if roads are decent.

Good to know! So on a different note, when traveling with the camper aboard, what has been your practice when approaching the various truck scales??

Many thanks,

3 tons

Ditto what zb39 states; never pulled into an open scale. I'll argue all day long we're an RV. Confident in that and I'll take the discussion if it ever comes up. Includes that gawd awful state California. Bypass includes when we cross the pads and get flagged in...just skip it.

We're just over 19k on the truck, hover around 28k total with the trailer.