cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Should be simple WiFi question, but???

DD716TED
Explorer
Explorer
My home Xfinity router outputs both a 2.4 ghz band and a 5 ghz band... I am trying to use an app on my Samsung A7 tablet that strictly requires the 2.4 band. When I look at settings / connections, it only shows the name of the WiFi network in use BUT not whether it is the 2.5 or 5 ghz which both have the same name.. Any ideas on how to determine which one the Tablet is using? Thanks in advance for any help..
14 REPLIES 14

MrWizard
On My T-Mobile Home internet Gateway, I have two SSID one for the 2.4gh band and one for the 5gh band,
Administration options allow naming, band choosing, channel, even setting the power level of each band, I'm no router expert, but I think this is a pretty common feature these days
I can explain it to you.
But I Can Not understand it for you !

Connected using T-Mobile Home internet and Visible Phone service
1997 F53 Bounder 36s

bob_nestor
Explorer III
Explorer III
wa8yxm wrote:
bob_nestor wrote:

Some routers like the Archer use unique names for 2.4 and 5 gHz and distinguish between them by appending a "_5g" to the SSIDs. Others, like some of the ASUS routers, can use a single name for both and when a device tries to connect it automatically selects the correct WiFi. ASUS calls this feature "Smart Connect" and it can be enabled or disabled via the web interface to the router. However, there are some devices which have difficulty connecting if this is enabled in the router. I have both an Archer and an ASUS along with various tablets, phones and such. At least one of my Android tablets can't deal with the auto-select.

The POS my internet provider provided.. Did not have the option to name just one band different. It only had one SSID/PSK
Which is why I got the TP-Link Archer 10