cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a Dodge, oops, Ford TV

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have an appointment Monday at Dodge to order a truck to be built for me.

Question: Should I spring for the Anti-Spin Differential Rear Axle for $435 and/or the 4-Corner Air Suspension for $1,715?

I am new to towing. It will have the 3.92 axle (as opposed to the 3.21 axle). The 3.55 axle requires the EcoDiesel or the V6 gas engine.
Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB
79 REPLIES 79

Groover
Explorer II
Explorer II
Bobbo wrote:
Sigh. I wish Ford had offered the Max Payload Package on the truck I have ordered. I would have jumped on that with both feet.

I tried for a year to order one with the max payload package and finally gave in when I realized that Ford just didn't want to build the truck that I wanted to buy. I still wish that I had it but to be honest the truck I have is doing the job and is doing it better than I expected. If anyone from Ford is paying attention I want them to know that Ford left quite a bit of money on the table by not being willing to build what I wanted. It sound like they left some on the table in your case as well.

It is pretty devious of Ford to run so many commercials bragging about their superior payload in the half ton trucks without telling you that it is practically impossible to purchase a truck with that rating.

Mike_Up
Explorer
Explorer
The reason why makers offer a heavy half and a max tow package with slightly higher payloads, is that people use these trucks as "daily drivers".

I was all ready to buy a F250 but was stopped in my tracks when I found that the 2016 F250 Screw 4WD 6.2L w/3.73 Locking differential was only getting 10 mpg city, 15/16 mpg Expressway and 12 mpg mixed. I simply can't afford to drive a truck with that bad of fuel economy as my work commuting truck.