cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Computer maps

briansue
Explorer
Explorer
On another recent forum topic "Vagabundos del mar travel buddies calendar" we got into a discussion about maps after I posted some screen shot photos of some maps. I think that was going more than a little off topic so I think maybe we should start a new topic about maps for use in computers.

I don't want to dictate here but what I am trying to get at is ways to use OFFLINE maps in COMPUTERS. NOT ONLINE. I also recognize devices such as GARMIN as well as handheld devices such as cell phones. I use a GARMIN and I use an ANDROID. But I want to start this topic as being just for OFFLINE maps that can be used in a COMPUTER - sort of a limited and specific topic if we can stay on topic.

I am no expert. I make no claims. I have been using Microsoft Streets & Trips (S&T) for many years very successfully. But as many of you know MS stopped revising S&T after the 2013 issue so it is becoming outdated as far as new roads being added.

S&T was/is a great program because it has a lot of features we can use to create routes and save them as well as being able to add Points of Interest (POI) to the map. We can create a route and save it for future use.

A website www.laptopgpsworld.com was a great place to learn about various different map programs made specifically for those of us who want to use our computers to research roads and routes we might use for our travels. So far there does not seem to be a lot to be learned these days about some of the new FREE OFFLINE maps that are available out there.

I do realize a lot of people like GOOGLE MAPS and I do to. But I find no way to really use it to full advantage OFFLINE.