cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Best Ex-Pat area for full time residency

jesseannie
Explorer
Explorer
We are considering moving out of the US to experience another part of the world. We have thought of Mexico, Costa Rico, Belize, Panama each one has plusses and minuses. When reading the blogs it seems a lot of posters are real estate people trying to make a buck.
Do any on this forum have some first or second hand experience to share?

Thanks
Jesseannie
53 REPLIES 53

CampbellDaycrui
Explorer
Explorer
During my career as an aircraft technician, I lived in various places in the Middle East, and spent all my non-working days in Thailand, Nepal, India, the PI, Singapore, Australia, NZ, etc. My schedule was 6wks on and 3 wks off for over a decade, so I spent a bit of time in those places. I began traveling in that part of the world in 1970 at the age of 17 when I hitchhiked from Europe to India over 6months.

fulltimedaniel
Explorer
Explorer
CampbellDaycruiser wrote:
To a certain extent it depends upon how you feel about living in a country without very much freedom. For example: Thailand is a military dictatorship where foreigners can be imprisoned for critiquing the king. The Philippines is run by a murderous vigilante.

It also matters how you feel about living on an ex-pat island in a sea of locals or living in a society with extreme income inequality where everyone is just scraping by except for the elite who run everything.

For some folks, as long as they are the ones on top this is irrelevant and I suppose that as long as you never leave the safety and security of the bubble it does not matter. Like a trip to Dubai: just ignore the near-slaves building the malls and high rises and don't worry about the religious police since they often do not target foreigners. But IMHO, sooner or later the real world intrudes and makes it impossible to ignore what it is really like in your new home for the ordinary citizens.