Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Questions and Opinions on Rigs

texaspiper
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings All,

I am a TC newbie in search of some advice and opinions regarding some tow rigs I am considering. I am looking at both the Ram 3500 DRW and the F-350 DRW and I would appreciate feedback from owners of these vehicles who ideally have the same setup I am looking at. I have been looking at the Arctic Fox 1150 and intend to purchase this as my camper. I will also be using the truck to tow a small 20โ€™ fish and ski boat and my Jeep on a trailer (obviously not at the same time). I intend to sometimes tow the Jeep or boat with the TC loaded as well. I intend to use the truck as my daily driver.

I have been considering ordering my truck from the dealer with the exact options I want but since I am new to this I do not know how much value these options hold for my intended use of the truck.

For the Ram 3500, there is an available factory air suspension. It is more expensive than available air bag systems out there. But since it is a factory item it would be covered by warranty. Thoughts on this?

Both trucks can be optioned with dual alternators. How much use are these for the TC? Can you use them to charge batteries or say run the fridge or AC while running down the road?

Factory Upfitter modules. Any use? Extra Factory auxiliary switches. Any use?

Axle ratios? Can I get by with a 3.73 or is a 4.10 more realistic for the AF1150 with a trailer behind?

I have seen a couple crazy good deals on some Ram 3500s at my local dealer. I have never seen one though that has the above options. Bottom line, is it worth ordering it for these options?

Again, I would appreciate some honest feedback on both these trucks. What you like, what you hate etc.

Thank you in advance,

TexasPiper
19 REPLIES 19

TxGearhead
Explorer
Explorer