cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Brakes and Steering on a 1984 Itasca P30 and convertor

tandtb
Explorer
Explorer
I want to thank everyone who responded to my last post. I am new to all this and recently purchased the above Rv. I find alot of play in the steering wheel and when using the brakes when I first stop it is pretty strong the second time it goes down a great deal and although it will stop it is pretty scary. Is there any place that sells parts for this year Itasca? We live in the Nashville area and I have called over 30 people who claim they work on RV's and no one would touch this because of the age. Any suggestions regarding the brakes and steering would be greatly appreciated. In addition the convertor that is in it will not reset the breaker...and when I plug in the RV chord and downsize it and plug in to a 30 amp it does not come on..the list goes on but these are the most important items. Thanks for your help everyone
12 REPLIES 12

olfarmer
Explorer
Explorer
Wow, I am surprised to hear that! I have a 2001 workhorse chassis and have had 2 different Chevy dealerships do service on it just this summer. One in Iowa and the other in Montana. I spent about $1450 with them and they seemed happy to get my money.

Good luck, I hope you get it fixed!
Ed & Ruby & the 2 cats
2001 Winnebago Brave 30W
7.4 gas Work Horse Chassis
99 Jeep Grand Cherokee

tandtb
Explorer
Explorer
yes I did and they will not touch it

olfarmer
Explorer
Explorer
Have you tried a Chevrolet dealer that services trucks? They are pricey but I have had them fix P 30 chassis for me.
Ed & Ruby & the 2 cats
2001 Winnebago Brave 30W
99 Jeep Grand Cherokee

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Any shop that can handle 1 ton pickup should be able to work on a P-30. It uses many of the components of a pickup and P-30 are the same. There is some that are special but not many.