Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Operating on a 20amp circuit
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Operating on a 20amp circuit

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
DutchmenSport

Indiana

Senior Member

Joined: 10/10/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/22/19 09:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

All of our previous TT's have all been 30 amp and we plugged into 20 amp service all the time and never had any kind of issue. It's all about power management.

Then a year ago we got the 50 amp 5er...whole new ballgame for us. Found out we could function pretty well plugged into a 30 amp service. We just followed the same long standing practices we always did when we had the 30 amp TT's.

Then, last April, we stayed at a relative's home and they had a small shed where we plugged into a 15 amp service for our 50 amp 5er. Before arriving, I had all the wire ready and all the step-down / step-up adapters to go from 20 to 30 to 50 and backwards again.

Turned out, not only did that single 15 amp service, service one plug, it also powered a refrigerator and a freezer inside that shed. We that 15 amp service was divided. The house (an old farm house in the countryside in Indiana), had the old screw type glass fuses and he showed me where he kept extras in case we blew one.

We made it 2 night and 3 days in April, in Indiana crazy weather, and never blew a single fuse in the house. We practiced power management.

If "it" had ability to run on battery or propane, we ran "it" on battery and/or propane. The only thing running on electric was our own refrigerator (all electric) and our television and alarm clock.

We did just fine over that week-end. Power management! That's all it takes.

And oh yes, I had to run about 75 feet of 30 amp cord, attached to 35 feet of 50 amp cord, started out with the 20 amp - 30 amp RV dogbone adapter. Then a 30 to 50 rv dogbone adapter.

bob213

Fresno, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/09/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/22/19 11:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would make sure your propane canisters are full. Heater is biggest draw on LP. Don't want to run out in the middle of the night.


You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality – Ayn Rand


RoyB

King George, VA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/13/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/22/19 01:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

winniman -

Always got to have a PLAN B...

Roy Ken

AllegroD

Outdare

Senior Member

Joined: 05/13/2003

View Profile



Posted: 11/22/19 03:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Lonnie,

You will also want to note if there are other things running on this circuit, like a freezer in the garage. Easy to over look and each item adds up.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/22/19 06:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

20 amps will be lots. I'd consider running a 500 watt electric heater, to reduce propane use.

I often boondock in winter on just 15 amps. I do have a hybrid inverter/charger which allows me to "dial down" demand to 13 amps, preventing any over load.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

RJsfishin

Winston Or.

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/23/19 05:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If I couldn't live on 15 amps I'd quit.


Rich

'01 31' Rexall Vision, Generac 5.5k, 1000 watt Honda, PD 9245 conv, 300 watts Solar, 150 watt inv, 2 Cos 6v batts, ammeters, led voltmeters all over the place, KD/sat, 2 Oly Cat heaters w/ ox, and towing a 2012 Liberty, Lowe bass boat, or a Kawi Mule.


BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 11/23/19 06:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Do Americans now say "20a" when they really are talking about 15a with 14 wire, or do they mean actual 20a with 12 wire and the sideways plug-ins?

I get the strong impression on this forum they say "20a" no matter what. True? Makes it hard to know what people are really talking about without a translator/interpreter/cultural advisor. [emoticon]

The OP can at least confirm he means 20a for real in this case.

Thanks.


1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
See Profile for House electronics set-up.

road-runner

Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 05/03/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/23/19 06:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BFL13 wrote:

Do Americans now say "20a" when they really are talking about 15a with 14 wire, or do they mean actual 20a with 12 wire and the sideways plug-ins?
My guess is that they mean a circuit with a 20 amp breaker, that has 12 awg wire to a combo 15/20 amp outlet, or possibly just a 15 amp outlet. If an extension cord is used, it will be anything from 12 awg to 16 awg, but even if 12 awg, will likely not have the sideways prong on the plug.


2009 Fleetwood Icon

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 11/23/19 06:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

road-runner wrote:

BFL13 wrote:

Do Americans now say "20a" when they really are talking about 15a with 14 wire, or do they mean actual 20a with 12 wire and the sideways plug-ins?
My guess is that they mean a circuit with a 20 amp breaker, that has 12 awg wire to a combo 15/20 amp outlet, or possibly just a 15 amp outlet. If an extension cord is used, it will be anything from 12 awg to 16 awg, but even if 12 awg, will likely not have the sideways prong on the plug.


Do American RVs have all 20a breakers with 12AWG wire to 15/20 receptacles?

The 2003 Komfort 5er we had with a Parallax 7300, had schematics in the manual showing the USA version had a 30a Main and all the branches were 20a. The Canadian version we had of the same trailer (made in Oregon) had a 30a Main and one 20a with the rest 15a with 14 wire. All the receptacles were 15a.

I find it hard to believe the factory had 12 wire and 15/20 receptacles in the 2003 USA version, but don't know.

What about these days? Do American RVs all come with all 20a breakers and 12 wire for everything? You need the 20/15 receptacles of course, since you still get lots of appliances to plug in with 15a plugs.

New stick houses are getting more 20a circuits these days than before. But "up here" they still have some 15s.

MFL

Midwest

Senior Member

Joined: 11/28/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/23/19 06:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think most on this forum understand the difference between 15 amp, and the 20, with heavier wire, especially the 15 Dutchmen mentioned, with the old glass screw in fuses. I can run any single high draw on 20 amp, even my 15K AC.

Jerry





Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Operating on a 20amp circuit
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.