cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New and confused

eherber
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all! New here, so instantly I apologize if this info is somewhere else, and I do not know where. I did some searching, but I'm also at work so I can't steal all the time.

My Wife and I just entered into the travel trailer world. We're pretty much complete newbies. We did our research and found a TT with a bunk house was the best bet with our family, us and 3 kiddos 5 and under. We purchased the new (cringe) Jayco Jay Flight SLX 8 267BHSW. We got the Baja package and the rocky mountain edition. We live in AZ, plan to do a lot of dry camping, but also try to traverse the country and show our kids what it has to offer. On top of visiting family in MN and VA. Our intent, or so we thought, was to buy a used 2016-2019 Suburban. Separate our kids in the vehicle, and bring the 4 legged friend inside for comfort too. In talking with some co-workers who have done a lot of camping, they have since advised us to not go with the suburban, as it is more or less the half ton now, they do not make the 3/4 ton anymore (since 2013.) With the trailer being at max 7300lbs, towing up the mountains of AZ, they don't think the 1500 is all that "safe" of an option. Fine, so now our options are a 3/4 truck for the most part as we want something used but with lower miles. Now sacrificing our space (all 3 kids in child's seats, two in rear facing)

The gist. Are they correct? Even with the different engine packages of the newer subs, their point is the transmission and suspension aren't really "up to par" for towing the 30' raised trailer fully loaded. Granted the tow rating of the sub is 8100-8300 - other factors should be considered.