Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Memory leak with Firefox?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Memory leak with Firefox?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 11:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm running Firefox Rev. 82.0 and having horrible issues with memory leaks. Leaving one window, with one tab open results in over 2 gig of memory being tied up over a couple hours. And eventually it locks up the computer.

Anyone else having issues?

I'm also using Chrome and IE, and neither of them show any such problem.

Windows 7 Pro.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 12:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Nothing new, FF has always had an history of being a memory hog with plenty of memory leaks.

Close browser and restart when that happens.

However, in spite of this, FF IS my preferred go to browser because I can add a few addons like AdBlockPlus NoScript which makes it a much more secure browser with a lot less chance of driveby malware taking a stab at my PCs.

Win7 Pro? Yeah, like myself running some PCs with XP, you NEED to run a browser with as many types of lockdowns as possible since MS has discontinued all support for non commercial customers.

Chrome and IE, no so much for security and in a lot of cases the last version of IE 11 which can be run on Win7 is not accepted by many websites like ADP and banks. Ironically meaning even Win8, Win8.1 and Win10 folks using IE11 have the same issue of some websites rejecting IE11.

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 02:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Very true, I just haven't seen anything that Win10 will do that I can't live without. Security could be an issue, but so far so good, as the optimist said when he passed the 3rd floor after falling off the roof.

I agree, FF has always had issues, but this is beyond anything that's come before. With one window open on RV.net, memory usage will exceed 2 gig in a couple hours not even viewing the page. Totally insane.

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 03:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fj12ryder wrote:

Very true, I just haven't seen anything that Win10 will do that I can't live without. Security could be an issue, but so far so good, as the optimist said when he passed the 3rd floor after falling off the roof.


Saying Win10, Edge AND "Security" all in the same sentence is an oxymoron.

Win 10 and all of it's internal components leak information back to the "homeland" at MS. That information is collected to learn your computing and web surfing habits. What you use, how much you use and what you consume, YOU ARE "THE PRODUCT".

Your personal habits and the information generated from using the software is a huge money maker and MS has made considerable attempts to prevent you from opting out.

MS takes that information that their OS and software collects and now can target you with intrusive ads, they can sell that information to anyone they want to and there is zero you can do to stop it other than stop using Win10 products.

That is the single main reason as to why MS "Gave" Win 10 away from Win7, Win8 products which MS gave a "free" upgrade to Win10, NO company just gives something away for nothing and stay in business without having some backdoor to make more money.

Pretty much same model is used by inkjet printer companies, they sell the printer for less than the cost to manufacture, but beat you over the head on insanely expensive ink refills.. Yeah, $40 ink cartridge has less than two cents worth of ink..

Granted FF and all of its' other variations along with Chrome does the same thing but at least with FF you can have options to allow you to trim back a lot of those security issues.

If you are using Win10, I would recommend using O&O Shutup win10 which allows you to opt out of a lot of the unneeded intrusive telementry.

As far as the FF memory leak, sometimes excessive memory leaks can be traced to poorly written addons it it just may be the nature of that release version.. May have to wait until the next release to see if it gets fixed..

FF does have feedback on their forums, you might wish to take it up there?

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 03:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the info about their forum. I may drop by and see if I'm an anomaly. I had heard some stuff about Win 10 that I didn't care for, and as far as Win 7...if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

CFerguson

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 10/25/2018

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 04:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gdetrailer is dead on re security. Anything microsoft will report your every move back to Central for future sales. And they are far from the only big offender.
I run every anonymizer i can think of, clear all data after a login (like to here) when i leave the site, and switch VPN IPs regularly. I'm not trying to beat the NSA, just the sleazebags that want to sell my privacy.

As to OP, I'm not seeing any problem with FF (latest version whatever that is) and agree with shut down and restart as a first option. Could it be competing browsers if you have them open at the same time?

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 10/21/20 05:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I usually have Chrome and FF open at the same time, but it hasn't been an issue until just a couple days ago. Got so bad one night, it crashed the computer. That's never happened before. I don't run many add-ons and the ones I have don't show any problems using the FF task manager. I'll just have to keep shutting it down when not active using it, and hope it's their problem, and they're working on it.

theoldwizard1

SE MI

Senior Member

Joined: 09/07/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/21/20 05:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One of the best diagnostic tools Microsoft ever invent is perfmon /res. Start it from a command prompt window. It will show you who is being the memory hog.

gemsworld

Arizona West Coast

Senior Member

Joined: 03/08/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/21/20 08:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have been a faithful Firefox user for many years, mainly because of the add-ons. I finally threw the towel in a few weeks ago and switched to Edge. I could no longer take the constant freezes and lockups caused by Firefox.





zigzagrv

Nazareth, PA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/22/20 07:10am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Been using 'BRAVE' browser now for about a year and have had no problems on my Windows 7 desktop, Windows 10 laptop and phone and tablet. Loads fast and blocks ads. Not a memory hog either.


Ron

2003 Gulf Stream Ultra Supreme 33'
F53 Class A
2013 Ford Edge toad


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Memory leak with Firefox?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.