cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grand Canyon to Zion

Grangrey4
Explorer
Explorer
I know this has probably been asked a lot. However if you are not experienced with mountain driving, what is best route from Grand Canyon to Zion with the least big curves and steep grades? I am not that experienced on steep grades up or down and my wife actually has a nervous disorder and I try to make it easy on her. Don't mind going a few miles out of the way. Zion hwy9 looks a little rough. Any help appreciated!!!
19 REPLIES 19

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Here is link to tunnel.
Tunnel Info
The climb out or drop into canyon is fairly steep but can be handled by most drivers as the speed is very low.

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

bukhrn
Explorer III
Explorer III
2gypsies wrote:
You don't have to miss the drive through the park on Hwy 9. Park the RV and drive it with your truck. I also agree that since you said you have a 29' trailer you could even drive it with your RV.

Get into low gear before you even begin a downhill; don't try to do it midway. Everyone will be driving slow in the tunnel section. You'll fit right in!

If you're 62+ make sure you have the Senior Pass for all these parks. It will get in in free and 1/2 off camping.

Here's some information on the tunnel area:

https://www.nps.gov/zion/frequently-asked-questions-about-the-zion-mt-carmel-highway-and-tunnel.htm

I also suggest you look at the wonderful 'nps' web sites for all the national parks. They give lots of good information including things to do, special park alerts, road construction, camping, etc.

There are also many YouTube.com videos of special roads.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZmoVAfKaMg