Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

1st RV Road Trip - Florida itinerary

brandicj
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,

We have just purchased our first travel trailer. 2019 Kodiak Cub 19BHSL towed with 2012 Tacoma 4x4 with towing pkg.

She did beautifully on a nasty-weather shakedown trip close to home for 2 nights at a state park. We'll be camping at least once more, this time towing a few hours north to DeSoto State Park in AL and doing some testing on our ability to conserve tank capacity and batteries while we're there. Hopefully we'll have some more nice weekends before March to break her in further.

We've researched for a year and been buddying with my sister's family in their camper for longer than that. I grew up in a family with travel trailer and class C which we used extensively, so in that respect we are not complete newbies.

DH, myself, DD14 and DD11 would like to have our first road trip for spring break. I need help considering our route and timing, as we are pretty sure these are the places we want to stop. Looking for any input others can provide.

Fri., 3/20 - leave Birmingham, AL after school; overnight near Dothan, AL (170mi). - probably Blue Springs State Park. full hookups

Sat. 3/21 - drive to Juniper Springs (339mi). 2 nights in the NF campground. no hookups, dump station and hot showers. water available.

Sun. 3/22 - canoe Alexander Springs (20 min drive), see the springs at Juniper Springs area.

Mon. 3/23 - depart for Atlantic coast with stop on the way for an airboat tour (St. John's River? Cocoa area - Twister or Grasshopper were both recommended.) Or this is a good day to stop at Blue Spring State Park in Orange County possibly. stay 3 nights in campground near Titusville or Port Canaveral (115 mi). Manatee Hammock or Wickham Park (both full hookups) are now our top picks but Wickham will probably win out due to noise mentioned in reviews of MH.