cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Looking for a dark sky site for the winter

Sliversnake
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all, I am looking for recommendations for a reasonably priced full service dark sky location to spend the winter. I am an amateur astrophotographer and full time RVer who would like to find a southwestern campground that is high, dry, and has dark clear skies far away from city lights. I am thinking New Mexico, Arizona, or Nevada but am open to other suggestions. Please share your experiences with me on these locations.

Thank you
Sliversnake
19 REPLIES 19

frizzen
Explorer
Explorer
If you are looking at the Ft. Davis area there is also the Crow's Nest RV park about 15 miles west of town. I drive by it a couple of times a year but have never been inside. Looks like a good place.
I need some wild

ependydad
Explorer
Explorer
Nutinelse2do wrote:
I thought the idea of having wheels was to get away from freezing temps and snow in the Winter???

For some.

For others, I know fulltimers who CHOOSE to spend their winters in Colorado so they have "wicked skiing".

Not for me, I'm like you- I want warm winters. But I also don't question/knock those who are accepting of cold.
2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
2018 Ram 3500 Crew Cab DRW w/ 4.10 gears and 8' bed
FW Hitch: TrailerSaver TS3
Learn to RV- learn about RVing - Towing Planner Calculators - Family Fulltiming FB page

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
Big Bend National Park if you really want to feel like you could reach up and touch the stars.

fanrgs
Explorer
Explorer
Second Fort Davis, Texas. And the McDonald Observatory is just over the hill with some REALLY BIG telescopes. My favorite Southwestern dark skies location is Chaco Culture National Historic Park, but I sure wouldn't want to spend a winter there!

We stayed at Lost Alaskan RV Park last January and it was ok for a short time.
"Retirement is the best job I ever had!"