cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Looking for suggestions on our 14 day trip to the southeast

mrad
Explorer II
Explorer II
We will be leaving later this week on a 14 day trip starting north of Minneapolis with the final destination being Savannah GA. We will be pulling our 43' toy hauler. No toys except for bicycles.

I plan on leaving Friday the 7th for Cave City KY and will probably spend Friday night in Springfield Illinois (will not drive through Chicago).
Looking for things to do/visit in the following cities

Cave City KY- 3 nights

Gatlinburg Tennessee- 5 nights

Savannah GA-5 nights

We have not decided on the route home. My wife is retired and I am a teacher so no need to hurry back. Any suggestions would be appreciated as we are not familiar with this area of the country.

Also, any suggestions on a mapping app that will keep me away from low bridges??

Thanks in advance
20 REPLIES 20

mgirardo
Explorer
Explorer
mrad wrote:

Savannah GA-5 nights

Thanks in advance

I'd skip Savannah or maybe 1 night. You can easily see all there is to see (not much) in a few hours. There is so much more to see in Coastal GA and in my opinion, Savannah is at the bottom of the list.

I would suggest Charleston, SC as your final destination, it is a lot nicer than Savannah. James Island County Park is really nice, but might be tough to get into at the last minute. There are other nice options in the area, like Oak Plantation Campground (closer to downtown Charleston).

I'm thinking stop for a few nights in Brunswick, GA (exit 29 area). Camp at Coastal GA RV Resort or Blythe Island Regional Park and Campground. You can then hit Savannah for one night on your way to Charleston or just a day trip from Brunswick.