cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Generator Help for New Sabre 36BHQ Owners....

Redeye2280
Explorer
Explorer
Ey there folks,

We've got friends who are having their new Sabre 5'ver delivered this coming Friday. As far as I can tell they did not purchase a generator in it. They've got two A/C's so they'll undoubtedly need something pretty hefty.

We've got an Onan 4000 in our rig but we've only got one A/C so I really need some advice from ya'll as far as what generators to look at.

Since we have a small A-class I have no experience with 5'vers and would really appreciate any other tips you could give us to pass on!

I really appreciate it,

Randy
2016 Jayco Alante 31V
2014 Honda CRV
2019 Golden Doodle
1950's Something Sweetheart of a Fisherwoman Wife
22 REPLIES 22

Redeye2280
Explorer
Explorer
Lantley wrote:
I have a 5'er with an onan 5500 LP it works great and powers both AC's.
When its hot out both A/C's are required to cool my rig.
If you choose not to go with the Onan but use portables it gets more complicated.
What kind of plug does the genset have? Does it have a 50 amp RV plug?
How are you going to move the larger heavier models. How are you going to transpoet and store gas. Is the plan to use genset 24/7? Are there others nearby to contend with genset noise?
Back in 2012 I factory ordered my unit with a genset however if I were doing it today I would invest in a A/C capable solar set up and skip the large genset. Times have changed.

I checked the front hatch and it didn't come prewired for an onboard gennie, but the plug is a 50A plug. At a point in time, they are going to have 50A shore power but they just need something to get them through a month or maybe a little less. His location is out in the country where noise won't be much of an issue, but he will be next to someone's house.

Thanks for your input, I'll mention this post to him!
2016 Jayco Alante 31V
2014 Honda CRV
2019 Golden Doodle

Redeye2280
Explorer