cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Establishing domicile and mail forwarding in Florida

Skycrath
Explorer
Explorer
I wasn’t exactly sure which topic to post this under, so I apologize if it’s in the wrong place and please feel free to move it. I am totally new to this community and RV living, so thanks in advance for your patience. 

I’m leaving apartment life and heading off in an RV full-time. My apartment lease expires at the end of April, so it’s getting down to the wire. A lot of last minute things have come up and I’ve only got a month to resolve them. I could find somewhere to stay temporarily for a month is necessary, but I really don’t’ want to do that. Believe it or not I’ve been preparing for move for the last 6 months, but I guess I didn’t get into as much detail on some things as I should have, hindsight is always 20-20. I totally thought I had my domicile choice in the bag, but last minute conflicting information has made me question things. I need to get this sorted out as quickly as possible so I would appreciate any advice. I would really love to hear from people who have recently used Escapees or St. Brendan’s Isle to establish Florida domicile and mail forwarding.  

So, here’s some background on my situation that will hopefully help you to help me:
?solo female travelers in her 40s
?totally new to RV life – but I have done solo business and personal travel for many years, so am completely comfortable with that aspect
?very excited for RV life – tired of apartment living and have never found a place I liked enough to buy a home, love travelling and meeting new people
?current FL resident (for the past five years) with FL DL and car registration – although I will be getting rid of my FL car once I get the RV, it’s on it’s last legs and would not even be reliable as a TOAD