cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apocalypse Now: Living Off Grid?

Diver4242
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I have been looking for a used class A to snowbird when we retire in a year or so. Lately, we've been getting real nervous about things going on here in the US and in our world. For example, the escalation of cyber attacks of countries against each other, and more and more crazy people being selected to lead their countries. I work in IT security and know fully well that more than one country has the ability to turn our lights off (the US does as well), meaning the electrical grid. If we buy something, like the 2014 Newmar Bay Star 2903 we're looking at, which has a 600W inverter and generator, what would we need to do to be able to live off the grid for a more extended period of time? I'm guessing we'd need to install solar panels on the roof, maybe lithium ion batteries, etc? (and of course, need a good supply of water from somewhere, maybe an upgraded filtration or purifying system?). Has anyone explored or researched this and know what mods and expense we would be getting into?
52 REPLIES 52

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
Now we have gone from fantasy to bigotry to crazy!
What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

rockhillmanor
Explorer
Explorer
Me, I've always been a little concerned about 'who' owns all the gas stations nowadays and 'why' this anomaly has happened.

They could all get one phone call and band together one day and just turn one key and bam we would have no fuel across the entire USA and that would be the end of it. Quite simple don't you think? And I do believe it will happen some day.

We must be willing to get rid of the life we've planned,
so as to have the life that is waiting for us.

rgatijnet1
Explorer III
Explorer III
sonora wrote:
The original poster is not alone. CLICKY