cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Motorhome hitch receiver has play in it

becker
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 08 Monaco Dynasty..... the hitch is rated at 10,000 lbs.... I have a Roadmaster Blackhawk All Terrain 2 Towing system.... when I slip my Roadmaster hitch bar into the receiver on the coach, there is a little play left to right.... very little, maybe 1/16 to 1/8 inch.... a poster on this blog had the same problem.... he solved it by using another type of lynch pin.... after you inserted it you tightened a nut and it held the tow bar very tight in the receiver and it eliminated the play in the hitch (I may not be explaining the lynch pin correctly).... my question is: has anyone had this problem and solved it in this manner? Thanks
2008 Monaco Dynasty, 42ft, 4 slides, 425hp clean air Cummins diesel
2013 Jeep Sahara 4-dr w/M&G Braking System
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2 All Terrain Towing System
30 REPLIES 30

ferndaleflyer
Explorer III
Explorer III
that right there would probably do a better job than anything I have seen mentioned above. After all the problem is in the inside of the receiver.

mccsix
Explorer
Explorer
Cut some 2" wide strips from an old plastic qt of oil, slipped them in the top/bottom/sides of the receiver...all is quiet.

ArchHoagland
Explorer
Explorer
Mine has been loose 14 years. Gonna be loose another 14 years...I hope, unless I kick the bucket.
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD
Workhorse W22 8.1 Gas Allison 1000, 7.1 mpg

2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
US Gear Brakes

DSDP_Don
Explorer
Explorer
I've used the Roadmaster Quiet Hitch for several years without issue. Quiet Hitch

I tried another brand, but it moved around. The Quiet Hitch takes a few minutes to install, but I leave it on the entire trip. Without it, I could feel the slop when taking off from a stop.

I have a second one I use when we carry bikes in the toad hitch. It secures the bike rack so it's not bouncing all over the place.
Don & Mary