Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

My 1992 Dometic RM2310 Fridge Stopped Working

JulieB888
Explorer
Explorer
Hello Kindly Folks,
I having serious trouble because I am full-timing and boon-docking and my propane fridge just stopped working completely. The light still comes on and stays on and it still gets really hot in the back but it won't work at all either on gas or electric. The propane light seems orange but it has always seemed orange (I've been using it for two years now without much trouble).

Now from what I read it seems that I may have damaged it by using it while the RV was un-level. However this is pretty odd because it was literally half a millimeter unlevel for 24 hours. It was just a few hairs over 4 degrees. Dometic have themselves told me that 4 degrees is still safe and i run it on 4 degrees many times without any problem. However I have also had it perform poorly after being just slightly unlevel before and it has always bounced right back after being leveled out for 12-24 hours. This time its different and I just don't understand it or are just unwilling to accept that it is permanently damaged and am hoping that there is cheaper solution out there than having to replace the whole fridge.

This bring me to my next problem. Someone old me that he pump the coolant out of it and replace it. That sounds kind of dangerous and I am not sure if I trust this person. Has anyone heard of this procedure? Is likely to help? Is it dangerous for someone who is not a professional mechanic to try and do?

Any and all input will be highly appreciated.

Thanks so much!
13 REPLIES 13

Traveler7
Explorer
Explorer
I only fixed it last week and tested it again this week so sorry, no idea how long it will last.....
"We are not defined by our limitations, we are defined by our potential"

JulieB888
Explorer
Explorer