cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Onan generator died

daugen
Explorer
Explorer
Our 2013 Itasca Sunstar 27N comes with the 2500kw Onan gen running on gasoline. It was always hard starting, taking up to ten seconds of cranking. We were then told to hold down the stop button to prime it first. Ok..., No difference whatsoever in starting.

Then yesterday, after running for about an hour, the gen stopped.
Smell of gasoline from outside the compartment. It was late, so I waited until this morning to investigate and let it cool down.

Ok, what should I look for? 24 hours on gen. Will check all breakers first, then will see if there's a fuel filter in there. Then will try to restart. The oil is fine...

It's the smell of gasoline outside the motorhome that concerned me.
That I need to find the source or cause of for sure.

I'm not a mechanic, and the new rv is headed back to the dealer anyway, but I'd sure like to figure this out today, if that's possible.

After I check on it, I'll let you know what I find, which I expect to be nothing visible. There is a manual start on the gen right on it and that's where I'll see if she fires up.
13 REPLIES 13

rgatijnet1
Explorer III
Explorer III
As mentioned a few times, the electric fuel pump is the problem. They have had a recall on them. As the temperature increases, the fuel pump will fail. When things cool off, it is not unusual for the generator to start up, but then when temps go up again, it will quit.

daugen
Explorer
Explorer
John, good to hear. Wish they would have built it right too...
not "their" fuel pump I'm sure.

John_S_
Explorer II
Explorer II
i will say i f it still give s you trouble go to Cummins they will fix it right the first time.
John
2015 Born Free Royal Splendor on a Ford 550
2018 Rubicon
Boo Boo a Mi Kie
42' 36' & 34 Foretravels sold
2007 Born free 24 sold
2001 Wrangler sold
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland sold