cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie questions on buying a used Class C

jbliss1234
Explorer
Explorer
I am an absolute newbie and would like to get an RV without making a major investment. I do not mind old, but I would very much prefer not to get into a fixer project.

I am currently looking at this rv which is a 1988 Ford Lazy Daze 26 foot: https://losangeles.craigslist.org/lac/rvs/6344909825.html

My questions are:
1. What sort of inspection should I perform, or get someone to perform? Could I ask the owner for permission to take it to a local mechanic?
2. I am very concerned about engine and transmission...since this is a 1988 model, do such old models have reliable check engine light. Could I assume that if the check engine light is not on, the engine/transmission is fine?
3. Since this is going to be a private seller in CA (I am in CA too), what paperwork do I need to show up with when I go to the seller? I am guessing I will have to buy insurance first? What is the exact process of title transfer? How does one make sure that the title is good and there are no surprises when I attempt to register the rv? At what point do I pay the seller...I guess I am just looking for a sequence for the buying process.
4. What is the way to arrive at a fair price? Is NADA guides the best resource?

Any other pointers so keep surprises to a minimum will be most appreciated. Thanks

Andy
9 REPLIES 9

klutchdust
Explorer II
Explorer II
The rig looks good on the outside but if I were you and knowing nothing about RV'S I would pay a mobile mechanic service to check out the vehicle for you. It will be the best dollars you will ever spend.

maillemaker
Explorer
Explorer
My questions are:
1. What sort of inspection should I perform, or get someone to perform? Could I ask the owner for permission to take it to a local mechanic?