cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old age

GHOST1750
Explorer
Explorer
There are subjects about classic motor homes but how about classic drivers. I was just reading another forum and someone asked opinions about the age of drivers. I know this must have been covered before but here goes. How old and how far per day, I'll start, can anyone beat my story?

I started driving a 35 ft. National Tropical gasser when I bought it new in 201 at the ripe old age of 68. In 2003 I traded it for a 2003 39 ft. National Tradewinds with a Spartan Chases, the difference was amazing. When traveling cross country I try to cover 400 miles a day. I'm a Korean vet with heart stints, otherwise good health. I just turned 85 last month and traded for a 40 ft. Canyon Star gasser. There has been a big improvement in handling and ride of the gasser since 2001. We will head back cross country in a month or so and I still plan to cover 400 miles a day, if I can do it without pushing too much. I have the advantage of having a much younger wife (8 years :B ) who is able to take the wheel when needed.
Just Don and a Chiuahua called Dulce
2003 39' Tradewinds LE
2002 Cavalier tow
Korean Veteran, USAF
FMCA F357981
CC4C
GOOD SAM

Life is a journey, not a destination !
30 REPLIES 30

xctraveler
Explorer
Explorer
Arch, I get your point, we have made that drive more than 15 times over the years. Just allow 3 days for the 880 mile run instead of 2 and get a great audio book good for 12 hours. Done. Without getting out my journal I can't spell out the stops, but Fort Stockton is one for sure.
Paul
2012 Phaeton 36QSH on Freightliner Chassis with a Cummins 380 pushing it. 2011 Cherry Red Jeep Wrangler Rubicon with US Gear Unified Tow Brake System. Check out my blog
FMCA 352081 SKP# 99526

ArchHoagland
Explorer
Explorer
tropical36 wrote:
GHOST1750 wrote: