cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Real World Experience With Transit Based Class B's?

ol__yeller
Explorer II
Explorer II
Just starting in my search for a small RV. I am intrigued by the Ford Transit chassis. I'd like to hear of anyone's real experience with these. Is the 5 cylinder diesel a good engine? How does your RV handle? I'm most concerned about drive-ability and reliability. I am also wondering what to expect MPG wise? I know the CCW is less than a larger chassis and that is not a concern for me. Thanks.
I am NOT a mechanic although I do play one in my garage!
7 REPLIES 7

ol__yeller
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thanks! I have been following that thread also!
I am NOT a mechanic although I do play one in my garage!

magicbus
Explorer
Explorer
You might want to review this owners experience.

Paseo owner's story

Dave
Current: 2018 Winnebago Era A
Previous: Selene 49 Trawler
Previous: Country Coach Allure 36

ctilsie242
Explorer
Explorer
There are not many Ford Transit upfits. You have the Coachmen Crossfit and the Winnebago Paseo.

I would say, if you want a good Transit upfit, you will have to hit a place like Sportsmobile.

Gryphon63
Explorer
Explorer
Songbirds wrote:
But I like smaller yet and have my eye's on the NEW 2018 the 2018 ERA 70M with DRY-BATH and Murphy Bed. As this is the only one with a DRY-BATH, Murphy Bed The 2018 ERA 70M very nice looking at 19.5-foot. Check out the web for complete details. Sets on a Ford Transit chassis.
The Winnebago Era is built on the Sprinter, not the Transit. The Paseo is their Transit Class B, but it doesn't have either a Murphy bed or a dry bath.

magicbus
Explorer
Explorer
Songbirds wrote: