cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Safety for doors

mjmc3
Explorer
Explorer
Hi. Newbie here. is there an additional padlock type lock that I can put on the door of the large class c winnebago 31 for security. how do you keep it safe from theft. thanks.
8 REPLIES 8

Tdkeilman
Explorer
Explorer
If I was worried about the "cheapy" lock and the deadbolt lock not keeping someone out, I would park somewhere else. Just sayin'

mlts22
Explorer
Explorer
If worried about the cab doors, Sussex Installations in the UK has deadbolt locks that will keep those closed even if the windows are broken. I wouldn't want them on my "C" because they don't open from the inside. I personally wouldn't do anything other than a Jimmi-Jammer on the cab doors for safety reasons.

On the entry/exit door, I'd also look at a Fiamma Safe Door. It is a way to have security, but a tad more elegant than the mentioned hockey puck locks.

hotbyte
Explorer
Explorer
Why bother given how quick someone could slim jim the cab doors?
2018 Minnie Winnie 24M

snowdance
Explorer
Explorer
We have used the standard house deadbolt for the last 40 years on a number of rigs. They and the jigs to cut and install them in doors are easy to find. The stand rv door lock is not much help.. However no matter what you do its easy to just pop the out side trim around the door off and unscrew the door frame and take it out. If some one really wants in there is no real way to keep them out. Just like your house.
Snowdance

We spent most of our money traveling... Just wasted the rest..

Chevy 7.4 Vortex
2000 Jamboree 23b Rear Kitchen

http://www.flickr.com/photos/snowdance38

mlts22
Explorer
Explorer
If you don't mind the marring of the door surface, you can put a bar in place on the entry door, then enter and exit out the doors in the cab. Another option is a jimmy proof deadbolt. The double-cylinder will keep the door closed even if a bad guy reaches the latch.