cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking of buying a Class A and seeking advice

MackinawMan
Explorer
Explorer
A little background, I am a veteran camper having purchased our first camper in 2001 and camping for 23 years now. We went from a pop-up to a 25' Dutchmen TT, to a 30' Cherokee to a 33' Jayco Eagle to our present 35' Sabre 5er.

Our tow vehicles went from a Ford Expedition, to a Ford Excursion V-10, to a Ford Excursion 7.3L Diesel, to our current 2000 F350 PSD, etc.

I only mention all of that for context, we've obviously camped a long time, with lots of different set ups, etc.

However, thinking now of going the motorhome route and leaning towards a Class A. I'm a teacher and with the kids long since grown and moved out, looking to travel during a week long Thanksgiving break, 2 week long Christmas Break, week long Spring Break, plus a week or so of personal days I can take. During Summer Break the plan is to spend 2 months at Mackinaw Mill Creek (hence the username).

When I say "travel" I simply mean leaving NW Ohio to venture south to get away from winter and set up camp at a local campground to hang out and be warm(er), as I've grown increasingly worse with seasonal depression issues, etc. I have a Ford Fusion Hybrid I plan on using as a toad.

This board has been a HUGE supplier of information for me since I joined way back in the day. I'm simply seeking any and all advice, the things I haven't thought of, or wouldn't...having never camped in a motor home.

Anything is appreciated....

(edit: Just noticed the signature is WAY out of date, lol)
2000 Ford F350 XLT 7.3L PowerStroke Diesel CC 4x4 OffRoad SRW Long Bed
2008 Jayco Eagle 314BHDS (Momma Eagle)
Equalizer Hitch System (1400/14000lbs)
Prodigy Brake Controller
Curt XD Class V Receiver Hitch (1500/15000 lb)
42 REPLIES 42

Racklefratz
Explorer II
Explorer II
MackinawMan wrote: