cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting subwoofer to new stereo

jacquesmm
Explorer
Explorer
The answer may be very simple to many of you but I don't have a clue.
I got rid of the infamous Concertone XZ700 that came with my 5th Wheel and bought a Jensen JWM60A.
Installation was easy but I don't know how to connect the subwoofer.
The ZX700 had a special connector for it with 2 wires. I don't see anything like it on the Jensen.
Out of the 3 zones on the Jensen, I use only zone A. It has connectors for 2 pairs of speakers, miss the center one, no big deal. What I miss is the subwoofer.
Should I connect it to the speaker wires on zone B for example and turn the 2 zones on? Would that work? I think it's what's called a self powered subwoofer.
7 REPLIES 7

jacquesmm
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the answers above. As I said, I am not an expert in that field and I should have asked for advice here instead of believing the RV repair guys.
I am not an audiophile and I don't use the stereo that much: news, talk shows and once in a while a movie. If I care, I will one day replace the Jensen with a 5.1 system. Or install that crossover system.

opnspaces
Navigator
Navigator
I pulled up the manual on Amazon and you are definitely correct about the no sub option. The problem you are running into is the old Concertone XZ700 is a surround system and can output 5.1 sound (4 speakers +1 center speaker for 5 plus a sub for the point one)

Your new Jensen is not a surround receiver but rather just a standard stereo output so yes you will not have a center channel.

A crossover is basically a filter box. You run the speaker wires from the Jensen to the crossover. The crossover splits up the sound and sends the mid and high levels to the speakers and the low levels to the subwoofer. I did a real quick look on Amazon and found an inexpensive crossover, but you will need an adapter as well.
Crossover on Amazon
Adapter cable on Amazon