cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Directv

alaska_av8r
Explorer
Explorer
Okay i am new to using satellite tv while camping, I have it at home of course but I need some help and it doesn’t seem sane to pay the local tech $500 to set this up no more than I watch tv.

I have an HR 24-200 receiver along with a new full size oval dish, not sure the exact model but it only has one coax, has a swm sticker (I can get the model number tomorrow) and I have a tripod I want to use the receiver in my camper, while camping.

Would I be correct in assuming I need a swm for this to work? And if so do I have to get it from directv or can I get one elsewhere.

My camper is a keystone passport ultralight 285RLS. I have an HD antenna on the roof and a coax connection on side of the trailer. Both of these feed into a wineguard antenna booster that has connections for cable, antenna, tv2 and tv1. The camper has a tv in the salon and one in the bedroom.

I would like to be able to use directv on both TVs and don’t mind that they will both be watching the same channel. Of course the tv in the bedroom is fed by coax while the tv in the salon will be 2 feet from the receiver so it could use hdmi.

1. Will I be able to use the existing cable outlet outside the camper to hook up to the dish?

2. This receiver does have video/audio jacks so if tv 1 is on hdmi can I send the signal to tv2 over coax using those jacks

3. Or is there a better way?

Thank you
Tim
4 REPLIES 4

alaska_av8r
Explorer
Explorer
thank you very much!!!!

I did search and found similar responses but those topics were several years old and I wasn't sure if anything had changed..

tim

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II