Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camping in sub freezing weather

clintbrooks1767
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all,

I'm new to RVing. Just bought a 5th wheel. I'm going to take it to Angel Fire NM this January and go snow skiing. I've been skiing in NM for almost 20 years and the temperature routinely can get to 20 or 30 degrees BELOW freezing.

My unit has a fully enclosed ducted/heated underbelly, heated basement, and heated storage tanks. I know I need to protect my water hose (if the resort has their city water turned on). I will turn on my tank heaters and plan to run my furnace while driving if I we encounter sub freezing temps during our drive. I will only plan on placing my sewer hose out when dumping and return to heated basement after use.

Can anyone who's been camping in sub freezing temperatures provide me with any advice? I'm trying to avoid common rookie mistakes encountered while camping in very cold weather.

Thank you in advance.
69 REPLIES 69

wing_zealot
Explorer
Explorer
You three realize this post is a year old right? I pretty sure he’s figured it out by now.

NamMedevac_70
Explorer II
Explorer II
Jebby14 wrote:
dont underestimate the fuel needed to stay warm or the electricity

Very excellent advice and double that plus below freezing sleeping bags just in case of

StirCrazy
Nomad III
Nomad III
clintbrooks1767 wrote:
Hello all,

I'm new to RVing. Just bought a 5th wheel. I'm going to take it to Angel Fire NM this January and go snow skiing. I've been skiing in NM for almost 20 years and the temperature routinely can get to 20 or 30 degrees BELOW freezing.