cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

12 volt issue?

richy2
Explorer
Explorer
I have 2 maxair fans and one of the 12 volt tvs shut down for several minutes then power restores by itself.
Any ideas what could cause this. The rest of 12 volt powered devices remain operational.
20 REPLIES 20

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
dougrainer wrote:
OK I have been a RV tech for 44 years. NEVER heard of a 12 volt tvs. AND what this has to do with the Maxxair fans? I would assume 12 volt Television, but those have not been made in over 30 years. OP Please explain further. Doug

I'm an trained electronics technician got my Certification early 1970
s I've owned multiple 12 volt TV's and still have 2 of them

one is technically a 14.5 volt (Samsung) Uses a power brick to make 4.5 volts give or take. works fine on 12 volt house power normally but will cut out if the voltage drops.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
dougrainer wrote:
I stated 30 years ago. NO RV maker installs a 12 volt TV in a new RV and have not for over 25 years. Yes, you can find them, but 120 volt LCD is the cheapest best way to go. Doug

You'd be wrong. Quite a few newer RVs come with factory 12v only tvs.
I'm a moderator on a very large RV forum and see it quite often.
Dan- Firefighter, Retired:C, Shawn- Musician/Entrepreneur:W, Zoe- Faithful Golden Retriever(RIP:(), 2014 Ford F150 3.5 EcoboostMax Tow pkg, 2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255 w/4pt Equalizer and 5 Mtn. bikes and 2 Road bikes

StirCrazy
Nomad III
Nomad III
dougrainer wrote:
I stated 30 years ago. NO RV maker installs a 12 volt TV in a new RV and have not for over 25 years. Yes, you can find them, but 120 volt LCD is the cheapest best way to go. Doug