cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

7.5D Onan Question for the real Techs

Passin_Thru
Explorer
Explorer
My generator sat for a while and we finally started it, however, it doesn't generate when you excite. Can one use a slick stick on the stator ring? Do you have to remove the whole cover or can it be reached by removing the top cover? I am a Mechanic bu never ran into this problem but know to keep it simple stoopid. Thanks
8 REPLIES 8

Passin_Thru
Explorer
Explorer
OK Thanks. We are pushing here this week with a lot of work outside and a snow storm of Unk Known intesity. 1 inch, 5 inches or more or less. I suppose it will melt but supposed to hit N VA tomorrow night. Gosh I have Fire Dept. too. Boy is this week going to be fun filled.

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
For generators that had lost residual rotor magnetism I would flash the field with a 6-volt lantern battery. Figuring out which of the + - 2 wires is which, seems to be a problem with Oh-Man generators. The flashing would excite the regulator and things would resume as normal.

Start the generator before you do the above and if the field excitation wires do indeed have voltage of any kind then the slip rings are glazed.

With the salt air I have, I made sure the KATO power unit was brushless.

Passin_Thru
Explorer
Explorer
OK1 Thanks to all you for answering. I need to order the stick and like GJ said check the brushes. It had to sit unused fora year as our truck with the fuel tank blew up and we didn't get any fuel. Just spent over 8K on long block and turbo for 06 Duramax. Feel lighter! LOL

pirlbeck
Explorer
Explorer
Some pretty good trouble shooting info here.

Generator trouble shooting
2009 Lance 845
2021 Flagstaff 529RLKS 36'6" fifthwheel
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins
19.5 Rickson wheels with Michelin XZE tires
Air lift bags with 72000 wireless onboard air
Hellwig Big Wig rear sway bar
Rancho RS9000XL rear shocks
Torqlift tie downs

TEXAS
Explorer
Explorer